I Think They Call It Mixed Emotions

The last week in November was the 10th anniversary since being told I had cancer.

It was also the same week I was told I was no longer required to read the weekend news at Channel 7. The end of a 34 year career at SAS.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Joyous, that I had been free of cancer for ten years but sad, more than angry that my days reading 7 News were over.

I’ve moved on,on both counts, despite regular checkups to make sure the cancer is gone I rarely think about being so sick, but I am forever grateful that it was a point in my life that forced me to reflect on what, and who, really mattered in my life.

The days, then years that have unfolded since that dreaded statement “I’m afraid you have colorectal cancer, it’s a level 3 and we’re going to have to act quickly.”

Anyone faced with a life threatening illness knows after something like that your life changes forever, it can never be the same. It’s up to you to decide whether life is better, worse or just different.

Same with losing your job, although it does get harder as you get older.

For me, I see new opportunities unfolding, but not without effort, dusting off old skills getting back into media training, doing more MCing and public speaking.

Most exciting,  I’m retraining myself. My voice has been that of a news presenter for more than three decades. Now I’m going to put it to work as a voice over artist, you know reading those dreaded commercials. Maybe narrate some documentaries. However, the voice needs work, so I’m having lessons. Can you teach an old dog new tricks?

I’ve already ventured further into the internet, on social media and setting up a website for my new business. I made a DVD about dealing with cancer several years ago. Cancer - What Now? DVDCancer – What Now? has been exceptionally well received and has helped many cancer sufferers and their families.

I often give talks about dealing with cancer and now I have done a webcast which has received wonderful feedback.

So here I am, when many my age are enjoying retirement,  I’m truly re-invigorated and setting off in a number of new directions. I miss Channel 7 but like getting cancer maybe it was my time for a change and I just needed a push in the right direction.

Sorry dear, the garden is just going to have to wait.

One thought on “I Think They Call It Mixed Emotions

Leave a Reply

